Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z  Joint Appointments  Part Time Faculty
jason_blum

Jason Blum, Ph.D., M.S.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 116
t: +1 845 731 3522
e: jason.blum@nyumc.org

LungChi

Lung-Chi Chen, B.S., Ph.D., M.S.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 267A
t: +1 845 731 3560
e: lung-chi.chen@nyumc.org
Interests: Inhalation toxicology, ambient particles, nanotechnology, cardiovascular effects, atherosclerosis, ultrasound imaging, air pollution, vascular physiology
Dr. Chen 's detailed website

Chen Lab

MCohenWebCrop

Mitchell D. Cohen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 153 
t: +1 845 731 3527
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: mitchell.cohen@nyumc.org
Interests: vandium, chromium, pollutant metals/mixtures, cytokines, immune cell, inhalation, ozone
Dr. Cohen 's detailed website

Cohen Lab

Max

Max Costa, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman

455 First Avenue (PHL) Room 802
Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 210
t: +1 845 731 3514
e: max.costa@nyumc.org
Interests: carcinogenesis, DNA methylation, gene expression, metals
Dr. Costa 's detailed website

Costa Lab 

Cromar photo

Kevin Cromar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 237A
t: +1 845 731 3554
e: kevin.cromar@nyumc.org
Interests:Environmental epidemiology, health effects of air pollution, exposure assessment, asthma susceptibility, spatial analysis, environmental policy, translational research, education
Dr. Cromar 's detailed website

Cromar Lab 

Cuddapah2

Suresh Cuddapah, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 258
t: 845 731 3551
e: suresh.cuddapah@nyumc.org
Interests: Epigenetics, epigenomics, chromatin, histone modifications, insulators

Cuddapah Lab 

WeiDai

Wei Dai, Ph.D., M.S., B.S.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 10 
t: +1 845 731 3555
e: wei.dai@nyumc.org
Interests: cell cycle, checkpoint control, mitosis, genomic instability, carcinogenesis
Dr. Dai 's detailed website

Dai Lab

Frenkel

Krystyna F. Frenkel, Ph.D.
Professor

Public Health Lab (PHL) 802C
t: +1 212 263 6610
f: +1 212 263 6649
e: krystyna.frenkel@nyumc.org
Interests: biomarkers of cancer risk, carcinogenesis, chemoprevention, inflammatory cytokines, oxidative DNA damage, reactive oxygen species, tumor promotion
Dr. Frenkel 's detailed website

Gordon

Terry Gordon, Ph.D., M.S., B.S.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 266A 
t: +1 845 731 3536
e: terry.gordon@nyumc.org
Interests: inhalation toxicology, genetic susceptibility, ambient particles, chronic beryllium disease, occupational exposure limits
Dr. Gordon 's detailed website

Gordon Lab 

Gabbie

Gabriele Grunig, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 106
t: +1 845 731 3669
e: grunig01@nyu.edu
Interests: lung biology, immunology, asthma, interleukins, translational science responses to the airborne environment by the: immune system, blood vessels in the lungs and airways
Dr. Grunig's detailed website

Grunig Lab 

 Chuanshu

Chuanshu Huang, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room A4
t: (845) 731-3519
e: chuanshu.huang@nyumc.org
Interests: environmental carcinogenesis and cellular signaling; gene expression, protein modification and degradation; cancer invasion and metastasis
Dr. Huang 's detailed website

Huang Lab

Dr Jin

Chunyuan Jin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 274
t: +1 845 731 3602
e: chunyuan.jin@nyumc.org
Interests: Chromatin structure, epigenetic mechanisms, histone variants, gene expression, carcinogenesis
Dr. Jin's detailed website

Jin Lab 

CathyK

Catherine G. Klein, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 204A
t: +1 845 731 3510
f: +1 845 351 2058
e: catherine.klein@nyumc.org
Interests: epigenetics, genome instability, cytogenetics, arsenic, metals, antioxidants
Dr. Klein's detailed website

Klein Lab

hongjie_li

Hongjie Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (Research)

Sterling Forest (SLF) 276
t: 845 731 3575
e: hongjie.li@nyumc.org
Interests: Epigenetics, Pediatric sarcoma, Histone variants

Nirmal

Nirmal K. Roy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 254
t: +1 845 731 3547
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: nirmal.roy@nyumc.org

hong_sun 

Hong Sun, M.S., Ph.D., B.S.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF)
e: Hong.Sun@nyumc.org

 

Eric

Moon-Shong Tang, Ph.D.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 115
t: +1 845 731 3585
f: +1 845 351 3492
e: moon-shong.tang@nyumc.org
Interests: DNA damage, repair, UVC-induced photoproducts, acrolein, UVA, AFB1, melanomageneis, hepatocarcinogeneis, lung and bladder carcinogenesis
Dr. Tang 's detailed website

Tang Lab 

KamMeng

Kam-Meng M Tchou-Wong, M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 282
t: +1 845 731 3504
e: kam-meng.tchou-wong@nyumc.org
Interests: animal models of lung injury and lung cancer, p53, K-ras, antibody-based therapeutics, biomarkers for early detection of lung cancer in humans
Dr. Tchou-Wong 's detailed website

Goerge 

George D. Thurston, Sc.D.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 270
t: +1 845 731 3564
e: george.thurston@nyumc.org
Interests: air pollution epidemiology, asthma, ozone, particulate matter aerosols
Dr. Thurston's detailed website

Thurston Lab 

 Ike

Isaac I. Wirgin, M.Phil. Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 254B
t: +1 845 731 3548
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: isaac.wirgin@nyumc.org
Interests: chemical carcinogenesis, gene regulation, genetic variability, Hudson River pollution, mitochondrial DNA, oncogene activation
Dr. Wirgin 's detailed website

Wirgin Lab 

DazhongXu_photo

Dazhong Xu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 100
t: +1 845 731 3578
e: Dazhong Xu@nyumc.org

yixin_yao

Yixin Yao, Ph.D., M.Sc.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 212
t: +1 845 731 3517
e: yixin.yao@nyumc.org

JZ

Judith T. Zelikoff, Ph.D.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 235A
t: +1 845 885 5230
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: judith.zelikoff@med.nyu.edu
Interests: immunotoxicity, immunotoxicology, inhaled pollutants, macrophage activation
Dr. Zelikoff 's detailed website

Zelikoff Lab 

Joint Appointments with Environmental Medicine

Ahn Pic

Jiyoung Ahn, Ph.D., M.S., RD
Assistant Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) Room 518
t: +1 212 263 3390
e: JiYoung.Ahn@nyumc.org
Interests: genetics, dietary factors, prostate cancer, and cancer survivorship study
Dr. Ahn 's detailed website

Arslan

Alan A. Arslan, M.D.
Assistant Professor

Tisch Hospital (TCH) TH-528
t: +1 212 263 7763
f: +1 212 263 5742
e: alan.arslan@nyumc.org
Interests: epidemiology, cancer, ovarian, reproductive events
Dr. Arslan 's detailed website

YuChen

Yu Chen, Ph.D., M.P.H., B.S.
Associate Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) Room 581
t: +1 212 263 4839
e: yu.chen@nyumc.org
Interests: environmental and dietary factors are related to the risk of cancer and cardiovascular disease, epidemiologic studies of risk factors related to systemic inflammation on chronic diseases
Dr. Chen 's detailed website

Friedman-Jimenez

George Friedman-Jimenez M.D.
Assistant Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) 572
t: +1 212 562 4572
f: +1 212 562 4574
e: George Friedman-Jimenez@nyumc.org
Interests: occupational epidemiology and clinical epidemiology
Dr. Friedman-Jimenez's detailed website

Goldberg

Judith D. Goldberg, Sc.D.
Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) 534
t: +1 212 263 0314
f: +1 212 263 8570
e: jd.goldberg@nyumc.org
Interests: Director of Biostatistics, the Director of Biostatistics for Shared Resources, Kaplan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Director of Biostatistics for the General Clinical Research Center
Dr. Goldberg 's detailed website

DrHayes

Richard Hayes, Ph.D.
Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) Room 506 
t: +1 212-263-2722
e: richard.hayes2@nyumc.org
Interests: Genetic and environmental determinants of colon, prostate, and head & neck cancer
Dr. Hayes 's detailed website

Kaz

Kazuhiko Ito, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) Room 245B
t: +1 845 731 3540
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: kazuhiko.ito@nyumc.org
Interests: Human exposure, cardiovascular effects, respiratory effects, asthma, weather, air pollution, particulate matter, ozone, nitrogen dioxide, traffic

ThomasK

Tomas Kirchhoff, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Smilow 1206
t: +1 212 263 9418
f: +1 212
e: tomas.kirchhoff@nyumc.org
Interests: genetic cancer susceptibility, genetic variation, breast, colon, prostate cancers, lymphoma, genome-wide association analysis, next-generation sequencing
Dr. Kirchhoff's detailed website

HuilinLi Pic

Huilin Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) 547
t: 212 263 8977
e: huilin.li@nyumc.org
Interests: Biostatistics in Genetic and Cancer Epidemiology, Survey Methodology, Small area estimation and Diseases Mapping

Mengling

Mengling Liu, M.S., Ph.D., B.S.
Associate Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) 526
t: +1 212 263 6614
e: mengling.liu@nyumc.org
Interests: survival analysis, longitudinal data analysis, semiparametric inference, statistical genetics
Dr. Liu 's detailed website

Marmor

Michael Marmor, M.S., Ph.D.
Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) Room 560
t: +1 212 263 6667
f: +1 212 263 8570
e: michael.marmor@nyumc.org
Interests: Epidemiology, HIV/AIDs, Human immunodeficiency virus, Disaster epidemiology, World Trade Center health effects, Asthma
Dr. Marmor 's detailed website

Oh Pic

Cheongeun Oh, Ph.D., M.A., B.A.
Assistant Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) 556/558
e: Cheongeun.Oh@nyumc.org
Interests: Statistical genetics, Bayesian model selection, clinical trials

Reibman

Joan Reibman, M.D.
Associate Professor

NBV 7 7N24
t: +1 212 263 6479
f: +1 212 263 8442
e: joan.reibman@nyumc.org
Interests: adhesion molecules, airway epithelial cells, alveolar macrophages, asthma, tuberculosis
Dr. Reibman's detailed website

Sho

Yongzhao Shao, M.A., Ph.D., B.S.
Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) 538
t: +1 212 263 0324
e: Yongzhao.Shao@nyumc.org
Interests: biostatistics, study design, risk assessment, genetic association analysis

L_Trasande_photo

Leonardo Trasande, M.D., M.P.P.
Associate Professor

227 East 30th St
Floor 7 Room 711
t: +1 646 501 2520
e: Leonardo.Trasande@nyumc.org

AnneJacquotte

Anne Zeleniuch-Jacquotte, M.D.
Associate Professor

650 First Avenue (KIP) 539
t: +1 212 263 6512
f: +1 212 263 8570
e: Anne.Zeleniuch-Jacquot@nyumc.org
Interests: women's health, sex hormones, epidemiology
Dr. Zeleniuch-Jacquotte 's detailed website

Part Time Faculty

Fred

Fredric Jay Burns, Ph.D.
Research Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 258A
t: +1 845 731 3551
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: fredric.burns@nyumc.org
Interests: cancer, environmental, prevention, radiation, ultraviolet, radiobiology
Dr. Burns 's detailed website

BCohen

Beverly S. Cohen, Ph.D.
Research Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 274A
t: +1 845 731 3570
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: beverly.cohen@nyumc.org
Interests: airborne contaminants, respiratory tract, airway deposition, ultrafine particles
Dr. Cohen 's detailed website

Evans

Hugh L. Evans, Ph.D.
Research Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 143A
t: +1 845 731 3603
e:hugh.evans@nyumc.org
Interests: behavioral disorders, biomarkers, bioterrorism, metals, toxicology
Dr. Evan's detailed website

AlGunn

Albert F. Gunnison, Ph.D., M.S.
Research Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 233
t: +1 845 731 3500
e: albert.gunnison@nyumc.org
Interests: inflammation, inhalation, lactation, pulmonary toxicity
Dr. Gunnison 's detailed website

Naomi

Naomi Hallden Harley, Ph.D., M.Eng.
Professor

Medical Science Building (MSB) C-90
t: +1 212 263 5287
f: +1 212 263 5287
e: naomi.harley@nyumc.org
Interests: environmental radioactivity, radiation carcinogenesis, radiation measurement, radiation dosimetry, radiation risk modeling and assessment
Dr. Harley 's detailed website

Mort

Morton Lippmann, Ph.D.
Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 266B
t: +1 845 731 3558
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: morton.lippmann@nyumc.org
Interests: Human exposure, cardiopulmonary health effects, air pollution, particulate matter, concentrated airborne particles (CAPs), ozone, transition metals, asbestos fibers
Dr. Lippmann's detailed website

Assieh

Assieh A. Melikian, M.S., Ph.D., M.Phil
Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) EVM
t: +1 845 731 3575
e: assieh.melikian@nyumc.org
Interests: biomarkers of exposure and susceptibility, translational epidemiology, tobacco toxicity and carcinogenicity, metabolism and biotransformation, mechanisms of chemical carcinogenesis, lung and cervical cancers, leukemia
Dr. Melikian 's detailed website

Nadas

Arthur J Nadas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 239A
t: +1 845 731 3533
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: arthur.nadas@nyumc.org
Interests: mathematical statistics; biostatistics; mathematical biology, bioinformatics, HIV, air pollution, environmental medicine
Dr. Nadas 's detailed website

BNaray

Bhagavathi A. Narayanan, M.Sc., Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 112
t: +1 845 731 3624
e: bhagavathi.narayanan@nyumc.org
Interests: prostate and bladder carcinogenesis, chemoprevention, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), resveratrol
Dr. Narayanan 's detailed website

NNarayan

Narayanan K. Narayanan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 114
t: +1 845 731 3624
e: narayanan.narayanan@nyumc.org
Interests: inflammation and carcinogenesis; cancer biomarkers, dietary bioactive components, cancer prevention
Dr. Narayanan 's detailed website

Qu

Qingshan Qu, M.D.
Associate Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 273A
t: +1 845 731 3567
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: qingshan.qu@nyumc.org
Interests: biomarkers, genetic susceptibility, environmental health hazards
Dr. Qu 's detailed website

Toby

Toby G. Rossman, Ph.D.
Research Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 243
t: +1 845 731 3616
f: +1 845 351 3489
e: toby.rossman@nyumc.org
Interests: arsenic, metal, mutagenesis, carcinogenesis
Dr. Rossman 's detailed website

Solomon

Jerome J Solomon, B.S., Ph.D.
Research Professor

Director of Graduate Studies
Sterling Forest (SLF) 214
t: +1 845 731 3610
f: +1 845 351 5472
e: jerome.solomon@nyumc.org
Interests: Chemical carcinogenesis, DNA adducts, DNA repair, DNA replication, mass spectrometry, site-specific mutagenesis
Dr. Solomon 's detailed website

Bernie

Bernard Steinetz, Ph.D.
Research Professor

Sterling Forest (SLF) 212
t: +1 845 885 5419
f: +1 845 351 4510
e: bernard.steinetz@nyumc.org
Interests: environmental endocrine disruptors; Role of early pregnancy in protection against breast cancer; role of relaxin in combatting the insulin resistance of pregnancy;  aiding conservationists by determining true pregnancy in endangered species
Dr. Steinetz's detailed website